Cotton Gin’s Baby Flip Flops Pattern

Tut-10xTut-2

You’ll need worsted weight cotton yarn, G, H and I hooks, and some crafting loops. I got my bag at Hobby Lobby for 3.99. (I used a 40% off coupon. Wahoo.)

These pictures are for the larger size, but the process is the same.

Tut-3

Newborn Size 0.

Use a slip knot to secure the yarn to the hook. Chain 7.

Round 1: sc in 2nd ch from the hook and in the next 3 chs. 5 sc in the last chain on the hook.

If you’d like to use the craft loops as a strap, for the left foot, crochet around the “strap” between the 1st and 2nd of the 5 stitches in the last chain; for the right foot, crochet around the strap between 4th and 5th stitch of the 5 stitches in the end.

Do not turn. Continue to work around the opposite side of the foundation chain, with a sc in each of the next 5 chains. 4 sc in the end chain. (17 sc.)

Tut-5

Round 2: Join with a slip stitch into the the turning chain. Ch 1. this counts as 1 sc. Sc in the next 3 stitches. Hdc in the next st. 2 hdc in the next 5 stitches around the top of the foot. The half double crochet stitches will give a gentle increase in the height and will create a more foot shaped sandal instead of just a plain oval. Yes. I can be OCD in very selective ways… Moving on… 1 hdc in the next st. Sc in the next 4 sts. 2 sc in each of the 3 stitches to shape the heal portion of the base. (27 st)

Round 3: Join with a slip stitch, in the first stitch, don’t do a chain one, simply work a slip stitch in each stitch around.

Tut-6

 

Take care to stitch around the strap between the 3rd and 4th stitches on your way round and again on the opposite side.

Tut-7

When you get back to the beginning, you can fasten off how ever you choose, but I prefer to do an invisible fasten off. One of my favorite tutorials on Youtube was posted by Crochet Cabana.

The strap.

There are several options for the strap. You can use the same yarn or a contrasting color, secure the yarn to the hook with a slip knot and simply slip stitch around the strap, alternating over the strap with one stitch, then under the strap with the next. I used 7 stitches on each side of the toe.  You can also just sc over the strap. Alternating under and over, creates a nice braided texture. Here’s a shot of a pair in blue, for boys.

100_2162

My favorite option is using eyelash yarn. I switch to a G hook, secure the yarn to your hook and sc 15 stitches on each side of the toe.

Tut-8

Tut-9

When you get to the end, fasten off and weave your tails under the stitches of the strap. I do some tugging to stretch and shape the strap.

Tut-10

Since taking the pictures, I experimented with the craft loops and tied a knot about half inch from the end. It creates an uneven figure 8 shape in the loop. I stitch into the short end for the toe and the knot gives you something to stitch around and creates a sharper point at the toe. Stitch around on the sides as in the original instructions.

wpid-20130622_143656.jpg

You can also download the baby flip flops diagram. It includes size 3-6 month as well.

This is very versatile. You can add embellishments like flowers or buttons or both. If you find any errors or have suggestions, please feel free to let me know in the comments section.

100_2160100_2158

About Dana

Creative Thinker, Crafter, Designer
This entry was posted in Free Patterns, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Cotton Gin’s Baby Flip Flops Pattern

  1. Jeanne says:

    I love the idea to use the crafting loops! These are adorable versions you’ve created! Thank you for sharing the details of how you made them…I can’t wait to make them for the grandkids.

  2. Katrina says:

    I have to say I absolutely adore these baby flip flops!! I just bought some craft loops today and can’t wait to get started! I was just wondering if you allow people to sell finished items made from your patterns? I own an Etsy shop and wanted to get permission before listing anything. If permission is not allowed, you can bet I will still follow your blog and enjoy making these for donation!! 😀 Thanks so much!

    • Dana says:

      Hi Katrina. Thank you so much for stopping by, for following and for asking first before selling. With all that said, I’m honored that you’d like to use my pattern to make some cash and bring some joy to some little tiny toes, or at least the mommies and grandmothers that love those tiny toes! I’ve had them listed on my artfire shop for some time and have sold a few. I’ve not listed them on my etsy shop, nor anything else this year, for that matter, but anyhoo… I hope you continue to enjoy the flips and I hope you have success with your etsy shop. Any chance you have to link back to my blog would be appreciated, but not necessary. Happy Hooking! dj

      • Katrina says:

        Thanks so much!!! I really love them! I’ll try and remember and post the link to the ones I made the other night so you can see them!!! Oh and I forgot to mention last time that I’m happy to link back to your blog. I planned on doing that and forgot to tell you. 🙂 I have a feeling that won’t be the only pattern I’m going to try. 😀 You are very talented! Thanks again Dana!!!!

    • Dana says:

      Thank you, Katrina. Good luck with sales. =)

  3. Richelle barker says:

    Hi- anyone know where I can buy the crafting loops in Australia? Thanks

    • Dana says:

      Hi Richelle. Here in the states you can get them cotton or nylon. Another solution is to use knee high panty hose. Not sure what you all call them down there but maybe stockings. You can cut them in half inch widths and they’ll curl up like the loops pictured in my tutorial. I sure hope this is helpful. Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Pingback: Baby Sandals | The Cotton Gin

  5. Carolyn Ybarra says:

    OMG those are just gorgeous!!! You are a very talented lady and so kind to put the pattern for free. I will surely make a bunch in different colors for my great granddaughter. I never would’ve thought of the loops idea, how clever! Thank You so much.

Leave a Reply

