Handcrafted Designs for a Red and Black Wedding

I was recently referred by a neighbor to help with her friend’s wedding. I was asked to design the program to be printed on some blank premade invitations; build the bouquets, corsages and boutonnieres; as well as help with a few other little things like baskets to hold the programs.

I’m not sure how I feel about the bouquet. I like the initial shaping and the small feather accents, but the larger feathers, I’m just not sure about. I may have to do some editing.

I did some work, in my early twenties, in a flower shop. I got to do a lot of gophering, delivering and cleaning. But the most valuable aspects of that job were the creative skills that I managed to pick up just being in that environment. My friend owned the shop and she taught me as much of the basics that I could absorb and as well as some creative thinking skills. It was an invaluable experience! Needless to say, I learned to work with wired ribbon and create voluminous bows.

The bride has decided to have her guests hold sparklers in lieu of bird seed or bubbles. These are the baskets the she chose and I took some of the ribbon and other elements to create some similarity despite the differing styles and shades of the white baskets.

Well, that’s what I’ve been up to the past few weeks. I hope to post the corsages and boutonnieres soon.

I also plan to work on the quality of my photos, but I think I’m getting better.

About Dana

Creative Thinker, Crafter, Designer
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Handcrafted Designs for a Red and Black Wedding

  1. Jolene says:

    Looking for the easy headband pattern

Leave a Reply

