Taking Better Photos

Recently, I decided to reach out and ask for some advice from another crocheter/blogger. She made some great observations and I’ve taken her suggestions to heart. So, my first order of business: take better, more consistent photos.

I’ve been wanting a light box, but didn’t want to spend the money. So, I read a few DIY articles online and built my own. It is far from perfect and definitely has that home-made look, but I’m pleased with it despite that.

This is not a tutorial. It is just me bragging on my own efforts to make something useful without spending much money.

Basically, it’s a portable, table-top studio for shooting small projects. It’s covered in paper or fabric to diffuse light and prevent glaring. Mine is approximately 24″ x 24″ x 24″. I used recycled foam-core signs from my old job to build a box. I painted the insides white and secured the edges with duct tape. I know, I know, there are better ways to do things, but I was using what I had. I scavenged my lined closet and craft room for supplies.

I still had 2 lights from a former project. So I ending up buying only one more of the metal clip on light fixtures. It was 6.97 at Wal-Mart.

I cut one pillow case into two pieces and clipped them to each side. And used the other to cover the top.

I taped two pieces of poster board together to drape from the top of the back of the box to the front edge at the bottom. I can use other colors for backgrounds as I see fit. For now though, I’m using the poster board and brown craft paper that I had on hand.

Here are a few shots that I’ve taken for practice:

Little Garden Girl Dish Cloth Using Rachel van Schie's pattern.

One of these days, when my business takes off and the budget isn’t quite so tight, I might invest in a store bought version of a photo light box, but for now, this will do great in a pinch! And, I’ll keep reading digital photography tips online!

About Dana

Creative Thinker, Crafter, Designer
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Taking Better Photos

  1. PassionFyre says:

    Thats a great tutorial there 🙂 I’ve recently been wondering how to make my pics better lol
    Slightly annoyed now tho, because I threw out a cardboard box yesterday which would’ve been ideal haha

    • Dana says:

      I want to do it again, so I’m holding out for the perfect box. Cutting down the foamcore was a chore. 🙂 I’d like mine to not hang over the edge of the cabinet.

  2. saucyminxcreations says:

    Reblogged this on Saucy Minx Creations and commented:
    I’m going to get Andy to build this for me before he discovers I cut up his leather jacket to make bracelets!

    • Dana says:

      Just checked out your post about the jacket. Nice job. =) Photo light box was super simple. You’re stuff will look great being shot in one.

  3. saucyminxcreations says:

    Hes working on it! What kind of bulbs did you use?
    Thanks! Deb

    • Dana says:

      I looked at our local Walmart, but ended up at Home Depot and bought day-light, CFL bulbs as recommended by Nick at nickexposed.com. His post is a real tutorial, where as my post was just me documenting my more crude version. The bulbs made a world of difference!

Leave a Reply

