Complimentary Crochet Earflap Pattern

Hi All. I’ve been creating the same earflap on most of my beanies and thought it might come in handy for those of you who enjoy modifying or adjusting existing patterns.

You can fasten off and join anywhere on the last round of your beanie or you can do what I do. Once I’ve reached the end of the final round, I simply begin my earflap right at this point. It keeps the ‘seam’ to the side of the hat and the earflap actually helps to create some camouflage.

Once you’ve joined with a slip stitch, I simply skip the next stitch and do 5 dc into the next stitch. It creates a semi-circle that is the foundation for your earflap. Here’s the basic pattern:

Round 1: at the end of your last round, join with a sl st. Skip the next stitch. 5 dc in the next stitch. Skip the next stitch and sl st into the next 2 stitches. Turn. (5 dc)

Round 2: 2 dc into each stitch around. Sl st into the next 2 stitches. Turn. (10 dc)

Round 3: *2 dc into next stitch, 1 dc in the next stitch, repeat from * around. Slip stitch to next stitch on existing beanie and finish as desired. (15 dc)

If it curls too much for your taste or if you stitch rather tightly, you can modify this by skipping round 2 and simply doing round 3 twice. The increases are fewer and farther between, reducing the curling.

I’ll include a rough diagram, but please feel free to comment with questions, concerns or suggestions.

You can see just the diagram here: Earflap Diagram

I guess that’s about it. As mentioned before, please let me know if you have questions, concerns or suggestions!

About Dana

Creative Thinker, Crafter, Designer
This entry was posted in Free Patterns. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Complimentary Crochet Earflap Pattern

  1. Paty says:

    I Love it!!I tried others ear flaps but didn’t like it..I’m going to try yours looks fabulous..thanks for sharing.

  2. Peggy says:

    Hi I am not good at reading charts:( Need to learn for sure. It looks like where you start you skip 2 stitches and start your dc in that stitch? Is that right? Thanks:) Love the look of your earflap!

    • Dana says:

      Hi Peggy. It is only one stitch that is skipped. I looked at the pattern, the photo and the diagram just to double check. It is only one. Sorry for the confusion. Hope this helps! And reading charts is a helpful skill, once you get it deciphered, that is. =)

Leave a Reply

