Basic Beanie Freebie

Here’s my simple, and quick version of a simple beanie. You can use this pattern for a number of projects, just make some modifications to accommodate your needs.

Worsted Weight

H or I hook

Gauge: 3 Rounds = 2.75″

Stitches used: slip stitch and half-double crochet

Do not turn. This beanie is worked in the round. The ch 1 at the beginning of each round does not count as a stitch.

Round 1: Using a magic ring, 8 hdc into ring, Join with a sl st in the first hdc, close the ring. 8 hdc

Round 2: Ch 1, 2 hdc in the first stitch of the previous round; 2 hdc in each stitch around  for 16 stitches. Join with a sl st to the first hdc. 16 hdc

Round 3: Ch 1, *2 hdc in the first st of the previous round; 1 hdc in the next st; repeat from *. Join with a sl st in the first hdc. 24 hdc.

Round 4: Ch 1, * 2 hdc in the first st of the previous round; 1 hdc in the next 2 stitches; repeat from *. Join as in previous rounds. 32 hdc.

Round 5: Ch1, *2 hdc in the first st of the previous round; 1 hdc in the next 3 stitches; repeat from *. Join as in previous rounds. 40 hdc.

I usually stop increasing at this point for a newborn size beanie. In the next round, simply ch 1 and hdc around. Repeat this round until you have an appropriate height for your beanie.

Round 6: Ch1, *2 hdc in the first st, 1 hdc in the next 4 stitches; repeat from *. Join as in previous rounds. 48 hdc.

This is where I stop increasing for a toddler size beanie. In the next round, simply ch 1 and hdc around. Repeat this round until you have an appropriate height for your beanie.

Round 7: Ch1, *2 hdc in the first st, 1 hdc in the next 5 stitches; repeat from *. Join as in previous rounds. 56 hdc.

This is where I stop increasing for a preteen/early teen size beanie. In the next round, simply ch 1 and hdc around. Repeat this round until you have an appropriate height for your beanie.

Round 8: Ch1, *2 hdc in the first st, 1 hdc in the next 6 stitches; repeat from *. Join as in previous rounds. 64 hdc.

For a beanie that fits most women, here is where I stop increasing.  In the next round, simply ch 1 and hdc around. Repeat this round until you have an appropriate height for your beanie.

Round 9: Ch1, *2 hdc in the first st, 1 hdc in the next 7 stitches; repeat from *. Join as in previous rounds. 72 hdc.

For a beanie that fits most men, here is where I stop increasing. Simply ch 1 and hdc around, joining each time, until you reach an appropriate height.

If you’re ever curious about the circumference of your hat and when to stop increasing, just  measure your circular piece after finishing a row and joining. Think back to junior high geometry. Circumference equals diameter times pi. C = d x 3.14(pi). For example, if your diameter is 5″, then your circumference will be approximately 15″ around. Most newborns have a head circumference around 12 or 13″; unless you birth a 10 lb child, as I did. Her head measured a whopping 15″! Whew! That was a long day. =) Anyway, if you do the math, you can predict the finished size of your beanie.

At this point, you have lots of choices as to how to finish your beanie. You can leave it as is. Simple is good. If you want something more feminine, you could add a gently curling brim, a scalloped edge or a picot edge. For something more masculine, you could add a brim that folds up, like the stocking caps you can pick up at discount department stores; or add earflaps!

About Dana

Creative Thinker, Crafter, Designer
This entry was posted in Free Patterns, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Basic Beanie Freebie

  1. debbie says:

    thank you so much for posting this in ravelry, and for free! You rock!!!

  2. Donna says:

    This is great! Thank you for the pattern. Do you put anything at the bottom to tighten it? I made a beanie before, but at the bottom it was too large around the child’s face. Is there some way of making maybe a stretchable band so it will be snug? Thanks. Donna

    • Dana says:

      Hi Donna. Thanks for stopping by. I was happy to offer up the pattern. On the issue of making it snug around the face, you can do several things. If the beanie fits well, but you aren’t pleased with the edge, you can do the last few rows/rounds with a smaller hook. You can decrease a few stitches on the last few rows/rounds or you can use something like .25″ elastic. In the book Get Your Crochet On! Hip Hats & Cool Caps by Afya Ibomu, October 2006, she mentions using elastic on the edge and stitching over it, to keep a nice fit.

      You may be like me and be a loose crocheter anyway, so I always have to adjust my hook sizes when deciding on the projects I’m making. Double crochet projects are usually very stretchy and bounce back after a good turn in the washer. I’ve not tried the elastic thing, but its on my to-learn list this year! Let me know how your hat turns out!

  3. Tuyet says:

    Outstanding information, however it could be somewhat more detailed.
    Not complaining, but I detest going from blog to blog to blog simply to find out a couple of answers; why can’t 1 site simply have them all for once! I’m sorry,
    I’m rambling and worn out…. I often get irritable and I’m taking it
    out on your site. My bad.

    • Dana says:

      No worries. I understand your frustration. In my own defense, there are so many other great sites out there for beginners and some great how-to videos that already exist, that I just can’t see trying to do it all on my own. I like to design and write patterns, but I realize that some of my techniques might not be well known, so I offer a link to another site or blog that can help with those techniques. And I have to say that I will only send you to sites that I trust and find extremely helpful. Thanks for visiting, just the same!

  4. Pingback: Complimentry Minnie Inspired Crochet Skirt Pattern | The Cotton Gin

  5. Pingback: Helmet Head | The Cotton Gin

  6. Pingback: Tatonka | The Cotton Gin

  7. Angie Golden says:

    I made 2 elmo hats. The kids loved them.
    thanks for sharing your pattern.

  8. Dana says:

    Angie, thanks for stopping by and letting me know the little ones loved their beanies! I’m so glad you were able to use the pattern and that it went over so well!

Leave a Reply

