Monster High Inspired Crochet Cadet Style Cap

Just completed this week! Working on writing the pattern for the cadet style cap this week too.

About Dana

Graphic Designer, Crafter, Lover of all things creative!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Monster High Inspired Crochet Cadet Style Cap

  1. Bailey says:

    I love the style.

  2. Dana says:

    Thanks. I’ve been working on the shaping for some time, and I’ve modified the brim pattern from a book, Get Your Crochet On, Hip Hats and Cool Caps. She’s got some great techniques!

  3. Magaen says:

    Do you have a pattern for this? My daughter loves this!!

  4. Magaen says:

    Oh my goodness!! Thank you so much! I appreciate it :-)

    • Dana says:

      Hi Magaen. I haven’t forgotten you, I just got busy and didn’t remember. =) Until I can get the pattern written up formally, I thought I’d give you the gist of how to get started. If you are a pretty experienced crocheter, this will all make sense to you. If not, I’ll do my best to get the whole thing written up soon. For now though, here’s the gist:

      This hat is worked in the round, using worsted weight I Love This Yarn from Hobby Lobby and an H hook. The bill I worked with two strands of yarn together and a G hook.

      The top is a basic flat circle. I created this one using a magic ring. You can also create a ring by chaining four and joining to the first chain with a slip stitch. Round 1: Chain 2(counts as first hdc, here and through out.), then do 7 hdc in the ring. Join with a slip stitch. Tug on the tail of your magic ring to close the circle. You should have a total of 8 stitches. Round 2: Chain 2. 1 hdc into the same stitch, then 2 hdc in each stitch around for 16 stitches, total. You will do a standard increase with each row until you reach your desired circumference. The hat pictured, I believe, had 6 rows. It was for a young girl, but not a toddler. Basically, you build that circle for the top. Round 1 = 8 hdc. Round 2=16 hdc. Round 3=24. Round 4=32. Round 5=40. Round 6=48. (if you need to go further, round 7=56 and round 8=64.) Just make sure what ever size you end up with, you need an even number of stitches for the pattern to work.

      At this point I do one round of single crochets where I reinforce the edge to have that pill-box hat effect. So… ideally, Round 7: chain 1. Sc in each stitch around, back loops only for a total of 48 sc. The part that reinforces this edge, is that you not only go into the back loop only, but you also go through the bump that is on the back of that stitch below as well. I try to think myself into crocheting a little tighter as well. I usually crochet very loosely, so I make an effort to keep my stitches on this row pretty snug. At the end of Round 7, join with a slip stitch.

      Round 8 – 14. These following rounds are all exactly the same. I do what I’ll call a Crossed Half Double Crochet around to achieve that ribbed and stable look.
      Chain 2. Skip the first stitch of the row. hcd into the next stitch, then ‘cross’ back and do another hdc into the base of the first chain 2. Yes. You skip that same stitch again. It’s a little awkward, but once you get used to it, you’ll love the textured effect you have when you’re done. Next, skip the next stitch and hdc into the next, then cross back, skipping that same stitch and do a hdc into the base of the last hdc you just performed. Repeat this around. You should have a total of 24 crossed hdc stitches. Join with a slip stitch, chain two and repeat around. You can fasten off here or simply chain one and start the steps for the brim.

      I used the brim from the book Get Your Crochet On! Hip Hats & Cool Caps. You can find it on Amazon.com here: http://www.amazon.com/Your-Crochet-Hats-Cool-Caps/dp/1561588504. I even found the brim from an excerpt on googlebooks here: http://books.google.com/books?id=_6EXYh6QwOEC&lpg=PA47&ots=UOSfSNhgkB&dq=get%20your%20crochet%20on%20hip%20hats%20%26%20cool%20caps%20by%20afya%20ibomu%20brim%20pattern&pg=PA52#v=onepage&q=get%20your%20crochet%20on%20hip%20hats%20&%20cool%20caps%20by%20afya%20ibomu%20brim%20pattern&f=false.

      Scroll down to page 55.

      And so you know, I have tried this brim only using one strand of yarn and it is ok, but I really like the firmness that you achieve with using two strands together and a smaller hook.

      For the bow: Crochet a chain of 15 or 20, I don’t recall which, depends on how wide you want your bow to be. Then join to create a ring, chain one and start working in the round, without turning. Work until you have a tube long enough to make the bow. If I recall, correctly, mine was about 7-8 inches long. I fastened off when I reached my desired length and attached the ends. It looks like a donut at this point. It doesn’t matter how you attach the ends, just make it secure. It won’t show, so whip stitch it shut or crochet it shut. Just get it attached. Flatten it against itself. Then using the same color yarn, wrap the center to create the bow’s “belly button.” Then attach it to the hat.

      I used an embroidery technique that I believe is called the chain stitch, to create the design on the front. I have been experimenting with puff paint on some Christmas ornaments and on the Halloween hats I created. That is a lot easier and faster.

      I sure hope this helps you get a nice little present together for your kiddo. Feel free to holler if you have questions.

  5. Magaen says:

    Thank you so much!!! I will have to give this a try when I find the time :-) I’m currently crocheting hats and selling them for fundraising, so I have quite a few orders to fill. Merry Christmas and God bless :-)

  6. nancy says:

    I would to get pattern for this
    very nice.

Leave a Reply

